After performing ‘Rotting Wood and Damaged Iron’ and ‘Through the Wound’ in Madrid’s Auditorio400, the ensemble takes these works to Badajoz

The Trio Arbós, ensemble winner of the Spanish National Prize for Music in 2013, will perform Òscar’s ‘Rotten Wood and Damaged Iron’ and ‘Through the Wound’ in their upcoming concert in Badajoz. The pieces will be performed in the Salón Noble de la Diputación de Badajoz (Badajoz).

These works are part of a three-part book of nocturnes – ‘Conversing  Memories of Worn-out Wood’- inspired by the work of various Spanish and Latin-American poets. Following ‘Crime’, the first piece of the collection (based on the poetry of V.A. Estellés), ‘Through the Wound’ is the second nocturne of the set (inspired by a poem written in 1941 by Miguel Hernández), and ‘Rotten Wood and Damaged Iron’ is the third and last piece of the collection.

‘Rotten Wood and Damaged Iron’

The nocturne is conceived as a short, fast, nightmarish scherzo to act as the middle movement between the other two, more reflective, nocturnes. The piece takes its title from a verse from Pablo Neruda’s poem ‘The Ghost of the Cargo Ship’. The writing of the piece builds composite sonorities as an extension of an original single line; formally, ‘Rotten Wood and Damaged Iron’ is akin to certain trios of the Romantic era, weaving the material as a scherzo with a double trio.

‘Through the Wound

The last Nocturne is based on a poem written in 1941 by Miguel Hernández.

‘Through the Wound’ is in essence monothematic, exploring various aspects of, and offering different perspectives on the material proposed at the opening, developing it organically. This process of continuous transformation takes the delicate, high pitched opening material, through a number of harmonic and textural variations, into a rather luminous and more defined middle section reminiscent of the soundworld of O. Messiaen. This crystallised version of the original material eventually fades away into the opening’s simplicity, this time duplicated in the two extremes of the register, bringing the ternary form to a close. 

Concert / NEW DATE :

·7th of April, 19:30hrs: Diputación de Badajoz, Badajoz.

More info: HERE.

Full Concert Programme:

Michael Torke (1961)
Winter Trio, para violín, violonchelo y piano (2013)
Òscar Colomina i Bosch (1977)
Dos nocturnos
Rotting Wood and Damaged Iron (2018)
Through the Wound (2009)
Lera Auerbach (1973)
Trío para violín, violonchelo y piano nº 1, op. 28 (1992-1994)
Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)
Trío para violín, violonchelo y piano, op. 24 (1945)